Extra charges on purchases

rkstr67
Community Member

Hi,

I'm brand new to eBay and recently made my first two purchases. When I received my credit card statement, the total amounts charged were slightly higher in both cases than what was shown on the seller's listing for the product + shipping.

I cannot seem to locate an actual breakdown of all fees for my purchases.

I really thought that buying on eBay was free.

I'm wondering whether this is either because:

1 - I'm from Canada and I bought these items internationally.

2 - I paid with my credit card instead of signing up for PayPal (even though it said that all credit card purchases are made through PayPal).

3 - There actually is a buyer's fee for all purchases.

I'm confused....please help me understand.

Thanks,

rkstr67

Message 1 of 3
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

The items you bought, can you check on the eBay listings if it says "Shipping:$xxxx International Priority Shipping to Canada  via the Global Shipping Program"? If so, the price you see on your credit card statement was a breakdown between the price sent to the seller and the cost sent to the GSP.

Another thing... if your items were in US $ and your credit card is in CAD $, you paid the converted amount from US to CAD. The card company also charged you a small conversion fee.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 3
latest reply
2 REPLIES 2

The items you bought, can you check on the eBay listings if it says "Shipping:$xxxx International Priority Shipping to Canada  via the Global Shipping Program"? If so, the price you see on your credit card statement was a breakdown between the price sent to the seller and the cost sent to the GSP.

Another thing... if your items were in US $ and your credit card is in CAD $, you paid the converted amount from US to CAD. The card company also charged you a small conversion fee.

Message 2 of 3
latest reply