how do i respond to cancelling a transaction when reason is not correct

4ubiff
Community Member

Hi ...I have just recently received a refund from a reputable seller for an item that was grossly not as described (silver chain - item specifics: NEW 21.6 grams -- item received NEW 6 grams) ....after communicating with the seller I was refunded 100% ...I have now received a message from ebay requesting action for: cancel transaction -- the reason the seller gave: 'the seller did not want the item" ...this is not correct...I would like to accept the cancel transaction request, given that the seller made things completely satisfactory...however I am hesitant with the 'reason'...I have no experience with this whatsover ...can anyone supply input?...thank you

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

The Seller is requesting a cancellation from you in order to receive his FVF (final value fee) back for the item he sold to you from eBay.  

You have been refunded for the transaction so go ahead and accept the Seller's request....

View solution in original post

Message 3 of 7
latest reply

When a transaction has concluded with a full refund, for better or worse, and a seller seeks to cancel it in finality to recoup their Final Value Fees paid to ebay, the seller is given only three choices with which to do so. One is 'I'm out of stock or the item is damaged' another is 'Buyer asked to cancel the order' and the final is 'Something was wrong with the buyer's shipping address'. None really apply in this case but the second is closer to the truth that the first or last. 

The seller isn't trying to hustle you, he or she is merely working with limited options to close the transaction. If you have all your money back, there is no harm in allowing the seller to cancel this by you agreeing to their terms for doing so. 

View solution in original post

Message 6 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6