Is it better to offer a flat rate shipping cost rather than by location?

I am new to selling on Ebay and having some difficulty working out what kind of shipping I should offer. How do  I know if my item will be subject to customs fees etc? 

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

@samsaman_kcn5hw wrote:

I am new to selling on Ebay and having some difficulty working out what kind of shipping I should offer. How do  I know if my item will be subject to customs fees etc? 

You've signed up for Canada Post's free Solutions for Small Business membership?

And plan to buy your shipping online? 

Inside Canada -- Expedited parcel (includes $100 insurance, delivery time guarantee or shipping refunded). eBay has a small discount (via Shippo) versus shipping bought directly from the Canad Post website or through PayPal. Calculated shipping recommended.

To USA - Small Packet USA (up to 1kg, flat rate) or Tracked Packet USA (up to 1kg, includes $100 insurance, tracked). Over 1kg then Expedited Parcel USA (tracked, includes $100 insurance, with more available, recommend calculated). All 3 services have eBay discounts via Shippo.

Customs exemption for personal purchases is $800 for the USA.

International - Small Packet Air (up to 2kg), has eBay discounts if purchased through Shippo. Never ship via surface -- while inexpensive, it takes too long.

Customs exemption limits for buyers vary from country to country -- which is something your buyers should know. Your buyer is responsible for paying duty and VAT.

-..-

https://www.canadapost.ca/cpotools/apps/far/business/findARate?execution=e1s1

Play with the dimensions and weights.

If you are shipping something that can be sent LetterPost/LightPacket, Flat Rate Shipping is fine*.

In fact, you could even take a deep breath and make those items Free Shipping.

DON'T PANIC copy.jpeg

Free Shipping just means adding the cost of shipping and packaging to your asking price.