Prepaid credit card usage via Paypal

I got a number of prepaid credit cards as gifts for my birthday last month.  I would like to use them to purchase merchandise on Ebay.  However, Paypal doesn't allow me to confirm them so I can't use them. I am in Canada using Ebay.ca, and the cards are in CDN$. Any suggestions? And yes I did activate them through their respective internet sites.  Thank you

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Re: Prepaid credit card usage via Paypal

mcrlmn
Community Member

Anti-money laundering laws, etc. prevent gift cards from being cashed out, so there goes a second option.

But  some claim to have done so. In which case the cash could be transferred to PayPal or linked to a bank account.

You're out of luck if the latter doesn't work;and relegated to in person transactions.

Message 2 of 5
latest reply

Here is PayPal's page on pre-paid gift cards. I have no experience with them myself so I can't give any direct advice, but perhaps this will be helpful to you:

https://www.paypal.com/us/webapps/mpp/template-management/prepaid-gift-cards

Message 3 of 5
latest reply

I just realized the link is for PayPal in the U.S., not Canada. At the bottom of the page, the last answer in the FAQ says:

"You may also get an error message if your prepaid card was not issued in the U.S. or if you are trying to buy from an international merchant."

I can't find a matching Canada page, so perhaps prepaid cards on PayPal is only possible in the U.S.?

Again, I don't know for sure, and I apologize for linking to something that doesn't apply to you. I guess my quick little Google search wasn't as successful as I thought.

Message 4 of 5
latest reply

@ca2015-malin wrote: