DUPLICATE LISTING FRUSTRATIONS

I'm sure there are many sellers who every so often do the ebay NO-NO of accidentally doing a duplicate listing......

Thankfully the ebay autobots usually catch the duplicate listing just as you click the LIST button, & won't allow the listing to proceed.

However, sometimes it is not caught & sellers will get the ebay warning notice regarding the penalties for duplicate listing a few days later.

Every so often some sellers even get to spend 7 days in jail (ie they're suspended until they get the Get Out of JaIl Card after waiting the 7 days).

Why can't ebay's programers improve their algorithms so to catch these duplicate listing 100% of the time & just not allow sellers to list them during the final stages of the listing process.

I'm not a computer programmer, but am thinking that it would be a very easy thing for ebay to do.

This would aid sellers who want to list many unsold items without them having to waste valuable time checking to see if listings are duplicate or not.

Ebay would probably end up with more fees from more sales also.

For my own listings, I know I would probably have about 25% more listings most of the time on my unsold lots.

If I can't find the time in order to check for possible duplicate listings, I just don't bother to do the relists.

Might be a good proposal to bring up during the ebay's regular meetings..... as I'm sure they're always looking for ways to make ebay better for all.

Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

I suspect it is harder than technodolts like me might hope.

Could I suggest that you add a note to each of your ended listings as they end, or to each of your beginning listings with the site and date of the listing?

These notes can only be seen by you.

I have found this helpful when I decide to Sell Similar on long running lisitings. (It refreshes them, I believe.)

Message 2 of 11
latest reply