First time seller from Canada and need help/advice

Hi there, this is my first time selling a few items and I need to figuere out the entire process. I am selling a few expensive items and dont want to be scammed so I am just looking for tips in general. Also I have no knowledge in terms of shipping rates, parcel size, and refund processes so any advice would be dearly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

Going by your feedback received and left, you will be selling items of interest to young males?

This is a difficult demographic, and one rife with fraud.

First, be careful when you are writing your descriptions. Poor grammar and spelling are a signal to scammers that the seller is either careless or poorly educated. Use spellcheck and don't use textspeak or other cutesy slang. That's for chatting with your friends not selling expensive items.

Describe as if you have no pictures. Picture as if you have no description.

Write your listing on a desktop or laptop, but check it on a mobile. Much less information appears on the mobile and yet many of your potential buyers will be shopping with one.

You have 80 keystrokes free in your title, which is your best (and free) advertising. Did I mention that titles are free?

Put your brand/size/colour first in the title-- this is part of the 'mobile' shopping question.

Sell what you know; Know what you sell. I'd be an idiot to try selling hiphop CDs or fancy sneakers. You probably shouldn't try selling lace tablecloths.

But also: know what you don't know. Owning a mobile phone doesn't mean you understand the problems with retailing mobile phones.

I would advise only selling to Canada and the USA.

I would suggest selling in US dollars, because Canadians (and the rest of the world) understand US dollars, and Americans , the largest economy in the world, understand nothing else.

The default Sell Your Item form only gives Canadian dollars- look for the Advanced form in the dropdown menu.