Need help with shipping to Eorope, Britain,etc

Hi folks

It's my first time posting in the forum and I'm hoping someone might be able to offer some help. I've noticed some of my competitors are offering shipping to Europe, Britain, and Australia. We sell glass tiles. The boxes are quite large. For example a typical box could weigh around 35 lbs and is 17" x 16"x 7" in size. Definitely not shipping t-shirts at these weights.

My competirors shipping rates on comparable weights are around $35 - $40.00. 

If anyone could offer some direction it would be appreciated!

Thanks

Message 1 of 30
latest reply
29 REPLIES 29

"My competirors shipping rates on comparable weights are around $35 - $40.00. "

Are your competitors Canadians or Americans?

What carrier and specific shipping service do they offer in their listings?

Message 2 of 30
latest reply

Shipping to the UK and Europe is VERY expensive, especially if you want to insure it. I had to stop selling all packages last January to these countries when the shipping costs went up so much. I now only offer shipping using letter mail.

Message 3 of 30
latest reply

These are American comps plus one Canadian. The shipping level offered is listed as International Priority Shipping. 

We can get a cross border courier to take our mail into the USA if we need to in order to access lower rates.

Thanks for any help

Message 4 of 30
latest reply

"We can get a cross border courier to take our mail into the USA if we need to in order to access lower rates."

That may be the only competitive way of doing it.  USPS is generally much cheaper than Canada Post for shipping large parcels overseas.

The question is: is it worth it?  Is there enough business in Europe and the UK to warrant the extra trouble?

Message 5 of 30
latest reply

Hi pierre