is it bad form to prompt a buyer for feedback or to follow up to prompting?

Is it a good idea to contact buyers who have not left feedback and ask if there was a problem and if not will they please leave feedback? I am new to ebay and working hard to please and want my feedback. What I don't want to do is p off my buyers by bugging them for feedback. Please forum, what's a seller to do?

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Contacting buyers and asking for feedback is not a good idea.  You may end up getting a negative feedback from a buyer who was not fully satisfied for the transaction.

On eBay anywhere from 50% to 85% of buyers leave feedback for their sellers.  15% to 50% do not.  And life does go on.

In future, what you can do is insert a note with your shipment thanking the buyer for their patronage and asking to please leave positive feedback if satisfied with every aspect of the transaction.

That does not mean every buyer will leave feedback but it may increase your percentage of buyers doing so.  That is it.  Do not chase feedback.

On a different note, you may want to remove the following from your listings: "The seller will not accept returns for this item." That sentence is counter-productive. 

Some potential buyers may take it seriously and hit the back button ("who wants to deal with a seller who does not guarantee his products?") while others will not care knowing that if the goods are not satisfactory (not as described) they can make a claim with eBay/PayPal and get their money back.  eBay/PayPal guarantee your products whether you want to or not, whether you like it or not.  May as well turn that into a positive by offering complete and unconditional guarantee in your listing.

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

That is what I do Pierre, I just insert a thank you note in my packages and say that if they are happy with the transaction, they can let me know that, and that it has arrived safely by leaving feedback.