eBay pages being redirected to unsafe websites

Anyone else having this issue? When I have ebay.ca open, suddenly the page will load another page with no prompting, and this page is indicated as unsafe by my antivirus. I'm assuming it's the ad scripts running on ebay, as I've heard of this with other websites, but never one like ebay. Thankfully my antivirus has kept my computer clean by blocking the pages, but a site like ebay should really be paying attention to what's running on their website. Wish they'd fix the issue, when this kind of thing happens on another page, I can just avoid that website and their sketchy issues. That's not really an option when you sell on ebay.

Message 1 of 36
latest reply
35 REPLIES 35

I am not a tech expert by any stretch of the imagination but what you describe to me sounds less like a problem with ebay and more like a problem with malware on your computer. Are you certain you're using an up-to-date reputable anti-virus software from a real and reputable company? Because some of the freeware anti-virus software that you can download is actually malware masquerading as anti-virus software. 

I'm sure other more tech-savvy members will be around the thread shortly to assist. 

Message 2 of 36
latest reply

Also, you should consider running an AdBlocker.

Message 3 of 36
latest reply

@argenticspirit wrote:

Anyone else having this issue? When I have ebay.ca open, suddenly the page will load another page with no prompting, and this page is indicated as unsafe by my antivirus. I'm assuming it's the ad scripts running on ebay, as I've heard of this with other websites, but never one like ebay. Thankfully my antivirus has kept my computer clean by blocking the pages, but a site like ebay should really be paying attention to what's running on their website. Wish they'd fix the issue, when this kind of thing happens on another page, I can just avoid that website and their sketchy issues. That's not really an option when you sell on ebay.