Escalated Case After I Refunded Funds

I am new to having a case opened against me (item not as described).  The description could have been written a bit clearer and I agreed that I was in the wrong and apologized to the buyer and issued her a full refund on the items and shipping the same day the case was opened.  I even told her to keep the items as 4 out of the 6 items were in the condition described in my auction.  

The refund is being issued by e-check which means it takes some time to clear.  But now that 3 days have passed, the buyer has escalated the case to eBay customer support for some reason.  What does this mean and what can I do as a seller?  She is a new eBayer too...

Thanks!

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

I "think" it means they have not received their refund as their is not guarantee an e-cheque will go through. Once the refund is completed the case should go away.

Until the e-cheque clears all the customer has is a promise of a refund.
Photobucket
Message 2 of 5
latest reply

There will be a time limit in which you have to respond to the claim. Wait until just before the deadline or when your echeck clears and then respond by choosing "buyer has been refunded" and enter the PayPal reference number.

In future, you should either keep enough in your PayPal account to handle such situations or if you don't have a credit card attached to your PayPal account transfer funds from your bank and provide a normal (instant) refund instead of an echeck.

Giving a refund in the form of an echeck isn't a good plan, especially for Canadians where echecks take a long time to clear. Giving a buyer a refund they will have to wait 7 - 10 days for is not likely to be well recieved.

"What else could I do? I had no trade so I became a peddler" - Lazarus Greenberg 1915
- answering Trolls is voluntary, my policy is not to participate.
Message 3 of 5
latest reply