Why does ebay hate Canadians?

As the subject line says, why does eBay hate Canadians? Why do we get gouged on shipping, screwed on the new BS "import duties," then given a final reaming on delivery? An item an American pays $60 for will cost a Canadian over $100. I know because I just paid that bill! And that's not even including extortion fees from the crime syndicate known as UPS. Or conversion fees from the banks. Or PayPal fees. 

And please don't say "if you don't like getting screwed, then just don't buy on eBay." That's a cop-out.

I've been buying on eBay for ten years, and I am done. When you add up all the backrage fees that eBay charges, plus insane shipping, plus duty, and whatever else they slap on in the future (fuel surcharge? administration fee? eBay logo colourization fee?), it just isn't worth it. When you slap a 40% increase on every purchase, it's just not economical. I'll take an ad out in the paper **bleep**. 

Message 1 of 29
latest reply
28 REPLIES 28

Re: Why does ebay hate Canadians?

"How about "none of the above"."

For me it is ABH (Anybody But Harper)

I could even vote for the Progressive-Conservative (not the reform coalition) under the right leadership.

Message 21 of 29
latest reply

I'd like to know why we buy from Canadian sellers and then they convert to US $$ which costs me more with exchange rate. I buy on EBAY.CA another way to screw us

Message 22 of 29
latest reply

"they convert to US $$"

Payment is made in the currency on the listings.

Most Canadian sellers chose to list in US$ because it is the universal currency, understood everywhere, more so in the USA, the largest marketplace for eBay. 

You will find some Canadian sellers listing in Cdn$.