Ebay Returns and Shipping Cluster

I am fairly new to ebay and shipping and the post office, but here is what is going on in my situation.

1.  sold a star wars comic for $134.99 + $18 for tracked shipping.  so the buyer paid $152.99 in total.

2. i got to post office, and shipped the book off for at a cost of $18.  

3.  the book gets damaged in transit (i have an insurance claim in for $100 on the book and i think i might be able to get a refund on the original $18 for shipping -- still waiting for outcome on situation) 

4.  i have to buy and email a new shipping label for the book so he can return it to me which now costs me $22 as fuel surcharges have gone up.

5.  the funds from ebay were never deposited to me, so when i reversed the transaction the buyer got his purchase price of 134.99 refunded.  i got nothing.

6.  buyer than asks why he didnt get the whole 152.99 back to which i do not know.  so he open up a claim on ebay and then end up giving him the $18 back.

7.  ebay charges my credit card the $18 dollars to which they then return to him.

so wft is going on here.  in summary, i paid $18 to ship it, $22 to ship it back and then ebay charged me another $18 to refund the buyer.  i have now paid $58 dollars out of my own pocket to ship this book around ontario with the hope i might be albe to get $18 back from the post office in my claim.  at no time did ebay ever pay me anything.

does it seem like ebay just pocketed the first $18?  i mean, shouldnt they have given back the customer the whole $152.99 since that is what they paid him? 

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

4. i have to buy and email a new shipping label for the book so he can return it to me which now costs me $22 as fuel surcharges have gone up.

Just to be clear, this dispute is being handled through eBay and the shipping label was purchased through eBay?

does it seem like ebay just pocketed the first $18? i

No.

That went to the PO to pay for the original label.