Am I the only outraged by fees on fees?

I'm sorry, I'm not one to rant for no good reason but I'm p.o. right now.

I'm not a pro seller, just a regular shmo who sells some stuff on eBay once in a while. But to me, charging eBay fees on shipping fees that I have to pay for seems outrageous. I mean, who does that?!? I charge the seller what Canada Post charges me (WHEN it actually works, which is not often) and then, I get stabbed by eBay on that too?!

I get the fees on the actual sale, perfect sense. But what do you guys do? Do you charge more for shipping? Pre-calculate all the possibilities? Is there a way to add say $1 to whatever is the shipping fee? Where did the "handling fees" go for that matter, because for my recent stuff I couldn't even charge those (you know, paper, enveloppes, gas to post office); I sell small stuff, and sometimes I sell at stupid low prices, but that's the thing with auctions and I'm fine with it. But I don't want to have to pay out-of-pocket over and above whatever I'm not getting out of the sale!!

Ok... rant over. Sorry. 

But there are actual questions in here that I would love to have advice on, because as it is, I'm done selling on eBay.

Thanks

ts

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Re: Am I the only outraged by fees on fees?

eBay is not for small sellers. They are trying to drive you away. If I cannot sell a widget at a good profit, after all fees, I do not try to sell it.

Watch your pricing and know that the exchange rate on the dollar is paying all your FVF. The current exchange rate is 9.25% and I get charged 8% for FVF. I am making 1.25.

Build all your costs into your opening price, I do. When the costs are too high, well, not everything is suitable for mail order.
Photobucket
Message 2 of 9
latest reply

I guess you're right... but it's still a shame that they wouldn't have a two-tier system of something to that effect. But profit is profit I suppose...