Buyers not paying

mcrlmn
Community Member

I'm a rookie seller, and getting a bad taste in my mouth...

Twice in a week I've had bidders/buyers not pay.

This is a pain in the.., and ties up the item for a minimum of 8 days resolving and closing.

Even if the bidder did eventually pay, I wouldn't trust and would probably cost me a lot more for registered mail.

Is this bidding and not paying as prevalent as I'm beginning to think it is?

Message 1 of 12
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Buyers not paying

No -you can Block bidders who have had two Strikes (true) but within a year not a month.

Buyer requirements 
Block buyers who:
Have received 2 Unpaid Item strike(s) within 12 Month(s)
Have a feedback score of -1 or lower
Are currently winning or have bought 10 of my items in the last 10 days and have a feedback score of 5 or lower
Edit buyer requirements 

The other two are not particularly useful, but do activate them. The over-active buyer is sometimes useful, but not for a seller whose customers buy multiple items at a time.

And don't EVER try leaving 'false positive' feedback. If the buyer complains, YOU get a violation and you don't have enough experience as a seller to withstand that hit.

Besides it's unprofessional and does no good.

Most sellers never see their customers' feedback until the customer buys, because most sellers use Fixed Price listings rather than auctions.

Meanwhile any future bidders will look at your Feedback Left and form an opinion of your temprament. Don't make them backbutton by looking vengeful.

The Strikes system works for all sellers, not just you.

Business is about selling not revenge.

View solution in original post

Message 8 of 12
latest reply
11 REPLIES 11

Buyers not paying

You could avoid deadbeat buyers using BlN, I don't think non payers is really a concern most buyers pay.

Always block any fussy buyers who needs them anyway, make sure your settings are tough on buyer requirements.