Ebay sales on my 2013 CRA Personal Income Tax Return

Hi, I have a few questions regarding ebay sales on my 2013 income tax return.
I started selling some coins on ebay last year and made some money.

Since I am new to this I would appreciate some feedback from someone who has more experience with this kind of thing.

I added up the total sales (Gross Income) and calculated my actual profit (net income).
Now my main question is; where would I fill in the GROSS INCOME and the NET INCOME (from ebay sales) on my personal income tax return?

Secondly I am wondering if there is anything else to watch out for?

I should also note that I don't run a business.

Any feedback is really appreciated.

Thanks!

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Money received for personal items sold is not considered taxable income.  However, certain items, such as jewellery, art, coins, etc., can incur a capital gains tax when sold.  You should consult an accountant to

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

Sorry - hit the send button by mistake.

An accountant can advise you whether and how you need to declare this.  Also, just because you don't consider yourself to be running a business, does not mean CRA agrees with you.

Message 3 of 8
latest reply

"where would I fill in the GROSS INCOME and the NET INCOME (from ebay sales) on my personal income tax return?"

The Gross Revenue amount (includes sales and shipping/handling charges) is entered in Canadian dollar on line 162

The Net Profit (Sales minus "cost of goods" minus related expenses) is entered in Canadian dollars on line 135.  Only this amount is added to your other income (employment, pension, investment, etc...) to arrive to your "Total Income" and, eventually, your "taxable income".

To give you a more comprehensive answer, one would need to know a bit more about your actual business.  And yes, purchasing "stuff" for resale (on eBay or elsewhere) is considered a business.