Grrrr.... Just venting about NSF cheques

I know I've been pretty lucky - I've been selling on eBay since 1999 and this is the very first returned cheque I've had, but boy, do I feel personally affronted!!
Buyer is now NARU and her email addy bounces - guess I'm gonna eat this one 😞

Que sera ...
Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

ospreylinks
Community Member
Does she have an address on the cheque....

Is there any other way to contact her via phone, etc.

Jeff
Message 2 of 7
latest reply

This also happened to me....loss over $280 with service charges. I know his both his phone # and address (no answer when I called), any ideas what I can do about it. I have wrote eaby twice regarding his fake personal info, and they haven't emailed me back and don't seemed to want to do anything about it. Love to at the very least have him kick off.
Message 3 of 7
latest reply

fenian
Community Member
A couple of things that have worked for me in the past. (1) you can have your bank place the cheque with his bank for collection. If he deposits enough to cover the cheque or more, it can be scooped for the cost of a bank fee. These characters don't always realize that a dishonoured cheque can be processed this way, and forget to place a stop-payment on it. (2) If you live in the same general area, you can go the "small claims" route, although this is time-consuming. (3) You can have a notary prepare a "bluff" letter advising that issuing an NSF cheque in payment for goods and failing to make good on it constitutes an offence, and that information will be filed with the office of the Attorney General for the province in which he resides, as a first step to legal action. The letter should provide a last chance to cover both the cheque amount and all your costs. Notaries have some good template letters for these situations, and the fee is fairly nominal. Keep the Board posted on how you make out.......and good luck! ..... Michael
Message 4 of 7
latest reply