Import charges on items bought in Canada from US

Why are Canadian buyers being asked to pay 42-48% import charges on items they buy from some sellers in the US?  Why is this levied by some US sellers and not all?  Who receives this money?   Why was this initiated?  Why are import charges not levied on purchases from other countries?  Why is it that, when I ask sellers to remove the import charges, they can?  I have been buying from the US since 2000 and, in those 13 years, I have had to pay import charges perhaps three times.  I have removed all sellers from my "Saved Sellers" list who are now levying import charges.  You are losing a big chunk of your Canadian buyers because of this.  We are very unhappy and want answers.

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4

Your rant has been answered on your other identical

post from last week

Message 2 of 5
latest reply

ysmbl
Community Member

I am right there with you ! ebay isn't even a place to get a deal anymore.......might as well go to the store! Pay for your product, don't pay $40 to ship a pair of shoes along with $18 in import fees...... at the end of the day these sellers are profitting a whole lot from those paypal deposits we give them, which are clearly not put to full use as far as shipping costs. I ask them what's up, they tell me to contact ebay. I look for answers on ebay, they tell me to contact the seller...

Message 3 of 5
latest reply

Why is this levied by some US sellers and not all?

As was explained to the OP before, although he does not seem to understand, some US sellers use the new Global Shipping Program to protect themselves in international transactions. The program is voluntary.

Why are import charges not levied on purchases from other countries?