New to Ebay Canada

upoly909
Community Member

Hello, I am new to Ebay even though I opened my account awhile ago I'm only going to start using it now but I have a few questions first so, I'm hoping someone can clear some things up for me;

first I was wondering if there was any other method of payment other than paypal to use that's effective someone can recommend? I have a list of things i want to sell but I really don't want to use paypal, but "I see paypal everywhere.

Also, I originally opened my account here but I keep getting routed to the US site, does that mean I can sell or start to sell there too or am I just allowed to start selling here on the Canadian site?

And how do you factor the shipping costs here if you don't know where it's going when you first make and post your listing?

And lastly, is there a way to find the definition of the terms?  like for example when you first list things it says "like new" or "new" how do you know what ebay considers "like new or new" cuz my like new might be different to what ebay means ?

Also any good pointers about how to be an effective seller would be great too!

Thank you!

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

New to Ebay Canada

any other method of payment other than paypal to use that's effective

EBay demands that we use an electronically visible payment method. While there are a few others that are accepted by eBay, customers prefer the anonymity and the security of Paypal.

Buyers can ask to use cash, money orders or personal cheques. The seller can accept or decline. The buyer is giving up most of his protection when he uses these methods. (Also cheques bounce.)

I keep getting routed to the US site, does that mean I can sell or start to sell there too

You can sell on any eBay site, including dotCOM (USA and the original site), dotCA (Canada), dotDE (Germany) , dotCOdotUK (Britain) etcl.