Unfair First Ever Strike For Case Closed Without Seller Resolution

I have been selling on eBay for over 14 years & just got my first ever Strike For Case Closed Without Seller Resolution. The US buyer claimed they never received the item so they opened a Not Received Claim. I was in constant contact with the buyer & always responded to their messages. I told them I had never had a parcel lost to the US in over 14 years so just be patient & I am sure they would get it. I told them if they didn't receive it by a certain date that I would refund them. Instead of waiting the extra couple of days they escalated the claim. Before I could refund the person PayPal imediately removed the money from my account & refunded them back. Now I have a srike against me. Phoned customer service about it but that was a big joke. They always side with the buyer over the seller.

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Oh dear.

The US buyer claimed they never received the item so they opened a Not Received Claim.

Okay.

I was in constant contact with the buyer

No.

Here is your error.

Instead of communicating directly with the buyer,you had to put your tracking number into the Dispute.

Without that, eBay which is dealing with the claim will automatically find for the buyer.

You might be able to appeal by giving Customer Service the tracking number showing that the item was delivered before or during the open Dispute.

If you didn't use tracking (technically Confirmation of Delivery which is a lower level of service) then you lose the case, but your shipping fees indicate that you use parcel services most of which are tracked.

At this point, while you should appeal to Customer Service, you should also contact the buyer and let him know that he can return the refund when his purchase arrives by using Paypal's Send Money service.  I find this works pretty well, because most people are honest.