Why was my account suspended due to security concerns?

My acct was suspended.  The email said due to security concerns.  This is my first time trying to potentially order items from eBay.  I added items to my cart to see what the costs would be with shipping and to view later / compare to other items.  I don't understand if it is my security or sellers security you are concerned about.  I haven't entered a credit card number yet so this is confusing as a new user.  I still receive emails from you about watched items, etc.  How do I move forward if I wish to buy something?  Use Amazon instead?

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

@denve_ca2014 wrote:

My acct was suspended.  The email said due to security concerns.  This is my first time trying to potentially order items from eBay.  I added items to my cart to see what the costs would be with shipping and to view later / compare to other items.  I don't understand if it is my security or sellers security you are concerned about.  I haven't entered a credit card number yet so this is confusing as a new user. ...

These are forums read (and sometimes answered) by buyers and sellers. You are not talking to eBay.

Use the Help & Contact link (at both the top and bottom of this page) to speak to eBay support. The Need our assistance? section is at the bottom of the linked page -- select your problem and eBay will display contact information.

-..-

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

There could be any number of reasons that your account was suspended so call Customer Service to find out what the problem is... if there is a problem at all.

You are certain the message actually came from ebay? Did you find a copy in ebay Messages? You didn't click on any links in the message to your email did you? It might have been a phishing ebay that had nothing to do with ebay itself.