Will I be receiving unreasonable charges?

Hey

So this is my first time buying anything on ebay, and I ordered a 30$CA Tetris Lamp from Hong Kong (so its not going to be that large or heavy). It apparently includes free shipping, Economy Int'l Shipping, but of course there's the fine print underneath that states "International items may be subject to customs processing and additional charges". Now, I'm a 15 year old guy who can't afford unreasonably high fees, so what kinda of "additional charges" should I be expecting? (I live in Alberta, as I could see that kind of information potentially being necessary)

Your help is greatly appreciated. 

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

Actually, I am surprised that you were able to order. At a guess you were using a PP account that belongs to a parent.

You will pay duty on the lamp since it is from a country that we don't have free trade with.

http://www.cbsa-asfc.gc.ca/trade-commerce/tariff-tarif/

You'll have to search for the right category yourself.

Then you will have the 5% GST on both price and duty.

Then there will be a service fee from the shipping company. If this is CanadaPost that will be $10. If it is a courier it could be $20 or more.

Note that duty is based on where the item is MADE not where it is purchased. So if you bought the same lamp in the USA you would still be paying duty.

More important.

The seller has only 45 days to get the item to you securely. If your lamp has not been delivered by Day 30 after purchase, Contact the seller and ask for shipping date, service used, and Delivery Confirmation number. It's unlikely that he will have the last, but ask anyway.

If the seller asks for a few days, wait until Day 40 and open an Item Not Received Dispute. If the seller cannot show that the item has been delivered you will be refunded by Paypal who will then go after the seller for their money.