Winning bid cancelled at the last moment and item placed on sale at a much higher price.

I bidded on the following item: eBay Bid Cancellation Notice - Item 281322594207 : BARACK OBAMA signed lstED KIDS LETTERS to Presdient OBAMA hc BOOK

I was winning item for $50 and then when the auction was about to close the seller cancelled the auction and now place the item for sale for $850

What recourse do I have?

I am new to EBay so don't know all the rules. But if this is how sellers behave I am never using EBaay again if they are going to allow scams like this.

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Winning bid cancelled at the last moment and item placed on sale at a much higher price.

@raj7197.stsir wrote:

I bidded on the following item: eBay Bid Cancellation Notice - Item 281322594207 : BARACK OBAMA signed lstED KIDS LETTERS to Presdient OBAMA hc BOOK

I was winning item for $50 and then when the auction was about to close the seller cancelled the auction and now place the item for sale for $850

What recourse do I have?

I am new to EBay so don't know all the rules. But if this is how sellers behave I am never using EBaay again if they are going to allow scams like this.

i don't know if the item is worth $850, but if it is worth close to that, then I can understand why the seller cancelled. 

While the seller has 80+ FB, they only have a few as a seller, so it looks like they are new to selling.

Unfortunately ebay makes it sound as if Auctions will make you lots of money, when experience shows that auctions get you the least amount of money the majority of the time. 

Don't be too hard on the seller, and just let it go. If ebay was up front about auctions, then sure, be hard on the seller, but they aren't. 

You don't have any recourse to get the item. The auction was done within the rules of ebay. Ebay specifically allows auctions to be cancelled. 

You can report the seller if you like, and maybe they will get banned.