charge taxes or take the hit to stay competitive?

Hi there,

This is my first post on the forums. I have been selling on ebay since about 18 months now and I just hit that 30k sales in the past 12 months. Which means that I registered to get my GST number (and PST number from Quebec since I live there).

I did make a sales tax table according to the respective HST for all provinces registered to the harmonised tax, GST for the rest but Quebec which I need to charge GST + PST.

At this moment I am starting to edit my listings and a though comes to my head "...And if I am not competitive on prices anymore because of this... ?"

I need opinions here, should I charge tax on ebay or not? I keep reading on forums that "many" sellers either hide the tax in their price or just take the hit to "stay competitive". Is this vital?

From doing the math, lets say I charge 4000$ (with shipping) within a month. If I just take the hit, that is 500$ to 600$ in loss since the average tax charged will probably be around 13%. I know this doesnt count the tax credits I can get for everything related to my business. Still this seems like a big loss to me, plus most inventory I buy is either from kijiji or garage sales (where I dont pay taxes anyways).

I need some advice here.

Thanks a lot,

Gabriel

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Hi Gabriel,

We asked ourselves the same questions many months ago before to launch and register our business both in Canada and Québec. We decided to follow the laws and to charge taxes to our customer. Of course, we received many complaints because there was a time we were selling without charging taxes (before to reach the 30k sales), but we explained to these customers and they understood...

The logic behind this decision is quite simple : To hide our sales activities would be very risky, so we do our duty, like all serious business and private individuals.