how safe is it to send something to Sri Lanka?

alllrite
Community Member

Some how I didn't exclude all countries but Canada USA as I intended and some one from Sri Lanka won the phone.  But they have 1 positive and have been a member since Feb 28 2014.  It will cost 75 dollars to ship the phone with tracking.  How safe is for me to complete this transaction?   I sure don't have a lot of confidence that this is a legitimate buyer, but I have no experience.  Will Paypal cover the phone if it goes missing and to what level?

regards

bruce

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

I don't think there is a shooting war going on there anymore, but I would be very cautious.

Give the buyer the cost of shipping with Air Mail and Delivery Confirmation. Perhaps even splurge on the $1.50 for Signature Confirmation.

Tell him cheerfully that the phone will be sent by Air and requiring a signature 'for his protection'. But really it's for yours.

The cost is likely to be an arm, a leg, and a couple of toes.

When he sees the price of the purchase, he may ask to be released from the transaction.

Whew. Problem solved.

You can offer a Mutual Cancellation. Fast and friendly, but he can leave feedback and Detailed Seller Ratings, which can kill a newbie seller if he is not happy.

You can wait four days after the auction ends, having invoiced with that Air Mail /Delivery Confirmed shipping cost, and if he doesn't pay start an Unpaid Item Dispute. If he then pays, well, at least the cost of shipping quickly is covered. If he does not, Whew. Problem solved. He will not be able to leave feedback.

Or you could both ignore the transaction, but then you have to pay the selling fees and he can still leave feedback for 60 days.

Do NOT allow him to cajole or bully you into any shipping service that does not include Air Mail and Delivery Confirmation. Without these you will not be able to prove delivery and will lose an Item Not Recieved dispute.