Fraudulent return

Hello,

I am fairly new to selling on Ebay, and have just experienced my first return request. The buyer claims the item is not as described, saying there is " skin residue" on the item, and that the charger is bent. He has included pictures he took. I can absolutely guarantee that the charger I sent him was not bent, and as for "skin residue", well I did not see any when inspecting it before shipping. Unfortunately, I used stock photos instead of taking detailed photos, so I realize I am probably screwed as far as this return goes. This has really soured my experience selling on Ebay, and for now I have removed all my listings. In the future, I will be taking very detailed photos of all the items I list and making sure they are included in the listing. Any other suggestions on how to avoid this sort of thing in the future?

Thanks.

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Fraudulent return

Despite eBay's push to get sellers to use the catalogue and stock photos, this is the reason why taking your own photos of the actual item for sale (especially if it is a used item) is still a good idea, so you're right about that. 

The other thing of course is to carefully inspect the item and clearly describe the item's condition in your own item description -- don't rely only on the item specifics to do that job.  I don't know whether this was the case for your item, but avoid using descriptions like "pristine" or "mint" for any used item ("excellent" or "very good" are better).  

As for the buyer's claim of SNAD (significantly not as described), the best you can do to protect your seller rating is to accept a return (if you do want the item back), and issue a refund once you've received it, which I presume you've already put in motion.