I'm a New seller and don't want to be ripped off .

ufovic44
Community Member

Hi I'm new to ebay and I put up two items up to sell ,and I wanted to get the most i could for them ,so i may have even overpriced one or maybe even both , well after 2 days I got a offer for both by the same person and it looks to me the offer is what im asking for . but my spider sense is tingling I never sold anything just got on here and I dont want to send the items and find out it was a scam and loss the items and then somehow paypal and eBay make be return the money.     I know once I get payment , I would have to send the items and I would ,thats the deal .   

But  is there ways I can protect myself from being ripped off? 

What would you do ? I think if I mailed it so It can be tracked by mail , would them show that it got to destination, and would  that be enough to protect myself , from losting the items and having eBay making me return payment or when I send it should I send it by mail that equires a signature when it gets to them ?    

Or  maybe I should just decline the offer, Its just something make me think somethings not right ? 

I guess Im asking because it my first offer and the 2 items total $850 .  The buyer been on since Nov 18 ,2001, still have funny feeling .

anythoughts or suggest be helpful .   

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Would that be for the t shirt which you show as $300 shipping within Canada and the McDonalds tie you show as $65 shipping within Canada?  Mentioning  "shipping cost will change , never sold on here so I have to find out how much to your location"   

May not be a good idea to begin your eBay on line selling career with those fairly high ticket items, nor with that wording.   They do tend to attract the underbelly of scammers.  Has the "buyer" asked for you to text him with your PayPal address or anything else off eBay yet?

Message 2 of 14
latest reply