Price vs shipping cost

Hi, I'm new to selling. I often see an item on sale for 2.99 or even less with free shipping added. How can that be , when the shipping cost is more than the price of the item. What if it does not sell for more than that price?

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Price vs shipping cost

Some sellers run items - particularly auctions - at a loss (and with free shipping) hoping to entice buyers to buy their other items on which they can make some profit.  However, you have to balance that strategy so that the profitable items cover your losses on the others. 

Other sellers list on eBay as a sort of hobby, to clear out things they don't want or need, and they don't really care if they make any profit -- or don't understand what is required to make a profit. 

Some others (including sellers in China) have the benefit of next-to-nothing acquisition costs and subsidized shipping rates. 

Either way, it's hard to compete with sellers offering items virtually for free.  Still, you don't have to undercut everybody's prices.  If you're on eBay to make some money, the best thing is to do your homework before selling and make sure you set your prices and shipping competitively at least somewhere in the middle of what sellers in your category(ies) are offering, so that you will see some profit from your time and effort.  It's also helpful to have top-notch photos and good descriptions that will give you an edge over your competitors.  Offering a range of items at different price levels to attract a variety of customers is a good idea as well.  Best of luck!

View solution in original post

Message 4 of 15
latest reply

Price vs shipping cost

Different possibilities:

1)  loss leader

2)  sellers from China have very cheap postage costs

3)  lots of folks are hobby sellers and lose money on every sale.

Hum? I just read Rose's answer after I wrote the above. Apparently her eloquence sniped me.

Photobucket