Seller contacts me after shipping to change address. Item gets sent back. What do I do?

Hey everyone! So I'm relatively new to selling on ebay(canada) and I just had a weird situation happen to me and I'm looking for advice.

I'm selling a somewhat expensive trading card (150$) and it was purchased by an account with no rating. They paid and everything was good, until I sent them a picture of me sending off the bubble mailer. They told me the forgot to change their address on Ebay and that I needed to contact Canada post to tell them to change the address.

The change wasn't huge, just a couple numbers higher on the same street but it still felt off to me. I suggested he contact Canada post to see if he could arrange anything on his side, as I wanted to ship at the address that I had on ebay to protect myself. I also made sure the package needed a signature at reception.

Fast forward a few days, it comes back to me, saying the address doesn't exist. I contact Ebay support by phone and they tell me my only option is to ship it to the new address outside of ebay's platform and ask him to paypal me for the new shipping charges.

I'm not really comfortable in just sending the card outside of Ebay's system as the second I ship it out again I feel like I have no papertrail to back in me up if/when the card is flagged as missing.

I was considering asking him to cancel the transaction and I would relist and then accept his offer, with the new address on file so it would allow me to defend myself if anything were to happen.

What do you guys think?

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

Seller contacts me after shipping to change address. Item gets sent back. What do I do?

did you send it with tracking.?, either way,  if not it is up to them to send, payment, for shipping again,. Don't send $150 cards without tracking,, they can say item, not recieved, but if you can show you sent it to there ebay address, you should be covered.

Message 2 of 7
latest reply