Shipping estimator undercharges Canada Post rates on listings

I called ebay today and the rep was not able to help me at all. I have been keeping tabs for several months on what ebay charges my customers and what I'm actually being charged when I print off my label through Shippo. It is always undercharging the customer. For example, yesterday I had an order where the customer was only charged $15.17 for Canada Post Expedited shipping from Ontario to British Columbia. When I went to print the label on Shippo, they wanted to charge me $19.53. Out of curiosity, I took the parcel to a Canada Post office and got the label for $19.53....so Shippo is correct. When I contacted Shippo, they advised me that they charge the Canada Post live rates based on the parcel dimensions given. I checked my listing and the dimensions and weight between ebay and Shippo are correct. This is happening every time and I'm getting sick of it. The ebay rep on the phone today told me that the shipping rates that ebay charges the customers are just "estimates". However, she could not answer when I asked her where these "estimates" are coming from. Shouldn't they just be pulling the Canada Post rates like Shippo does? It doesn't make any sense. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

That’s odd, I haven’t heard of anyone else having that problem.  The eBay calculator is not an estimate, it is based on the info given for locations n, weight and dimensions.  The eBay phone reps are based in the US and Philippines and have no idea how shipping works here so you’re unlikely to get an accurate answer from them.  

In your site preferences/shipping preferences check to make sure that there isn’t a carrier discount set up. It’s possible you had set up a discount when we actually had a noticeable shipping discount....these days its pretty slim.

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Here is the response from Shippo: