Buyer from Tel Aviv but shipment to Hamilton Ontario

loml888
Community Member

I just sold an item and in my email it state the buyer shipping address is in Tel Aviv.  When I go to my ebay it want me to ship to an address in Hamilton.  I know I'm not a newbie, but this has never happened before and not sure is I should ship it to the hamilton address or what.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanks

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

I would not worry about it.

I often buy items as gifts to my friends in other countries and therefore items are shipped directly there.

May it is a gift as well?

Or may be the person will visit Canada soon or the person from Hamilton will visit Israel?

This shipment will save them money on shipping cost at least... May be even on custom duties.

I recommend to send the item as parcel, so you will have a tracking number and I would add the option to have the recipient's signature on delivery ($1.50 extra)

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

I've had this happen a couple of times as well - one was a US eBay/Paypal address but a Canadian-registered buyer who asked me to ship to Ontario.  It turned out that he had a PO Box over the border for his US purchases to save money on duty presumably.  As mine was a Cdn. to Cdn. transaction, he had me ship directly to his home in Ontario. 

It's a good idea to use a tracked parcel service with signature confirmation and insurance in these cases if you can afford it (depends on the item value).  If the item value is fairly low, and you can send it lettermail, print off a duplicate address label on regular paper (or photocopy/scan the front of the envelope on your home printer), and have your postal clerk stamp it when you take it to the P.O.  This will at least be proof you have sent the item to the address indicated by the buyer.  And print out the buyer's email with their request -- if you get an INR case, it could help.