Buyer says she can't pay because of PayPal issues... HELP

Hey guys!

I listed a laptop recently and it sold earlier today.

However, buyer didn't pay. I wrote to her asking if she changed her mind (since by experience when buyers don't pay right away they rarely do pay at all).

She wrote back saying she's having trouble with her PayPal account...

Here's what she told me

(NOT ACTUAL MESSAGE! DON'T DELETE THIS THREAD!)

Dear Seller (me),

I tried to pay right away but paypal is giving me issues. I had to create a new account and now it wont let me pay for anything until I confirm my ban account in 3-5 days because they dont know the difference between CIBC and Presidents Choice. I wish I could just use my master card and pay you directly. 

If you dont want to wait I understand, I didn't even realize I had to use paypal its been so long since I used Ebay.

- Buyer (her)

Does that seem legit? It's my first time selling an item so expensive (~800$) so I'm worrying about getting scammed.
The buyer only have 3 feebacks but has been on ebay for 4-5 years.

Is it true that she can't pay  until she has confirmed her bank account? I was under the impression that she could use her credit card?

Let me know what you would do and if you smell anything fishy please!

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
Message 1 of 11
latest reply
10 REPLIES 10

Anonymous
Not applicable

Yes she has to confirmed her bank account which PayPal deposited a few cents to her bank account twice and she must check her bank account and confirmed back to PayPal the exact amount of deposits, 2 of them.  That way they will knew it is her.

Message 2 of 11
latest reply

Couldn't she use her credit card on PayPal?

Message 3 of 11
latest reply

Yes it seems fair too me, but she may just use a credit card in her Paypal account !?!?!  

Message 4 of 11
latest reply