Can you use the ebay proxy to help you 'snipe' an auction

I came across a beautifull Japanese doll that is unfortunately an auction (or maybe not unfortunately) and this is my first time bidding on an item.
I've read up on bidding and sniping and different techniques I could use to somewhat make sure I could win the bid but I have a bit of a 'problem' and a few questions I'd like to ask as well.
The problem is, well there's someone else bidding on the item but this person is really frustrating because I've seen them bid on many other auctions of antique Japanese dolls from the same seller as well as different sellers and they tend to really drive the price up by bidding early (luckily in my case aside from this 'annoying' bidder there isn't anyone else that I know of)

To combat this, I was thinking of sniping at the last few minutes because I really really want the doll but I don't also want to pay too much But I have a few questions 

1) Can you still use the ebay proxy biding system within the last few minutes of an auction?  because I read that it doesn't matter when  you bid but the highest bid usually wins so technically speaking if I had the highest bid and I put it in , let's say 2-4 minutes before the auction closes and by chance the other bidder counteracts, would the proxy system take over for me and keep bidding until it reaches my maximum?  (I did research and kind of found out the range their maximum tends to be)

And also 
2) Could I put my max bid as an amount I'm not really willing to pay, sort of like a 'fake' or 'dishonestly' higher than what my real max bid is so that I can ensure winning? And if I do do this, given that I put it in at the last few minutes would I then pay the second highest price (Which would hopefully be low given that the other bidder had the illusion they were winning and didn't have enough time to drive the price up) or would I have to pay my max bid I stated?

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6