Deadbeat Buyers

I have been selling on ebay for many years now and I still can't understand the motivation of deadbeat buyers.  They tie up the item for days, they have no intention of actually completing the contract, they loose the confidence of future sellers and they completely waste the sellers time.  It makes absolutely no sense to me especially since the easiest thing they could do is simply not bid in the first place.  Buyers-- if you are interested in an item complete your due diligence by asking questions BEFORE YOU BID.  If you choose to bid and if you are the winning bidder do the right thing by completing the transaction.  Don't just ignore the invoice and refuse to communicate with the seller. You will get an unpaid strike against you because I will wait you out.  Depending on the controls other sellers set on their accounts, you may be blocked from bidding on future auctions (I guarantee you will be blocked from ever bidding on mine again).  It's just into 2015 and I already have two buyers who appear that they will be going sideways on me.  If your moral compass is broken find a different hobby.  Take up knitting, learn to golf, whatever.........just get off ebay.  To my fellow sellers, I wish you much success in 2015.

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
8 REPLIES 8

Deadbeat Buyers

When i usto to sell different type of items (very competitive niche) i would have atleast a few non paid buyers a week. My guess is they changed their mind last minute. Usually they would ignore you when you tried contacting them , so i stopped wasting my time trying to get them to pay. 

Now i rarely have any non paid. I had one last week , first time in 6 months. It was a fairly big order so i just wanted my fees back. 

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Deadbeat Buyers