Got my first neg. :( Totally undeserved too.

kriky
Community Member
The woman didn't even contact me, just left neg about a parcel being "two weeks late" which it isn't. She sent a echeck and then it had to be shipped Expedited. It's only been 8 business days.
Anyway, she's a complete newbie. I was her first buy.
I'm going to neg her in hopes of a mutual withdrawal.
In the meantime... how do I respond to the feedback?
I've never figured out how to respond back so that it appears and that prospective buyers can read it? I want to write something like - shipped 10/03 from Canada - kwim? What would you do?

I'm just so sad. I knew i'd get negged, and I was waiting for it, but I am just sooo bummed that it was so darn undeserved.
Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

coastwindchimes
Community Member
Sorry for you kriky~ I still remember how bad the first one was for me. You have to know, though, that you are dealing with lots of people, and a certain small percentage are going to be nuts. You have done very, very well to reach over 600 without a neg.

My advice is to proceed with care. I was so upset I accidentally sent my response through as a positive (!). That made it even worse. Have you already sent an email to her expressing your feelings? Many newbies have no idea how important feedback is to sellers. I'd start with that, see what she says, and then neg her stating the facts. Then let her know you want a mutual withdrawal. Good luck.
Message 2 of 8
latest reply

gloriaguides
Community Member
You left an excellent response. I suggest you neg her, offer mutual withdrawal and then move on. The first one hurts (alot!) but will have no effect on your sales. Anyone who's been at ebay knows you run into some idiots, and the new ones don't know how to find your negs once they are a page or 2 back. And many of them think 97% positive is good. I've gotten a few negs from newbies--totally undeserved, but what can you do! Good luck, GLoria
Message 3 of 8
latest reply