How to handle a returned item

Hello,

I'm somewhat new to selling on ebay and have yet to encounter this kind of return-item issue:

I sold a NIP IKEA sofa cover to a buyer (Note: a very new buyer with 0% feedback).

Here is my 14-day return policy as outlined on the item listing:

All returns must notify me within 48 hours of receiving the product

Refund is given once the product is returned

All returns must be in resalable condition and original packaging

Buyer is obligated to pay the return shipping for refund

S&H charge is not refundable

15% charge for restocking fee for all returns

Please allow up to 7 business days to process your return after your product is received

Here are the issues with the return:

1) The buyer didn't notify me, the returned package just showed up at my door (still within the 14 day return window)

2) The sofa cover was poorly repacked in the original IKEA packaging (a cardboard box) and sent back to me - it was bulging at the seams and not covered in any outer material (i.e brown paper or an outer box) to protect the original package 

3) When the package arrived, it was ripped on several corners and the actual sofa cover was fully exposed

4) Because the cover was exposed and the original package was destroyed in transit, I'm not sure if I will be able to re-sell it

I've taken pictures of the package and can send them to the buyer if need-be. Besides my 15% restocking fee, is there anything else I should do to mitigate the loss on this product? It's clear the buyer made no effort to try and protect the original package or the product inside it.

Also, perhaps there is something I can do in future to decrease the likelihood of this happening again?

Thanks in advance for the advice!

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
4 REPLIES 4