Item not received, past 45 days - nothing I can do?

ukulucas
Community Member

Hey everyone.  I've been using eBay for several years and never had a bad experience, so I (naively) never bothered to read up on the fairly stringent buyer protection policies.

On Nov 15, I bought an item from a user named bikehusla801 who seemed to have a good track record.  After I paid, they sent me a message saying they were out of town and would ship the item the following week, and gave me $10 back from my shipping charge - nice gesture, I thought, so I didn't suspect anything.

I emailed a month later when the item hadn't arrived, and they said that "customs can hold items for 2-3 months".  Again, should have set off the red flags, but I'd had 30-ish perfectly smooth transactions and was too trusting.  So I took their word for it.

It's now been 3 months.  I've now contacted them at both of their emails that I know of with no response.

It's past 45 days (in fact it's past 90 days, you can't even see the item), and I only waited this long because the seller deliberately misled me, twice.  I have the aforementioned message saved in my eBay inbox, proof positive (in my view) of what they were doing.  Is there anything I can do, at all?  Call eBay and Paypal and my credit card and make a scene?  Make a song called "eBay sucks" and send it out to my 60,000 Youtube subscribers?

Any comments, any at all, appreciated.  I'm out about $45, which isn't a trivial amount of money, but it could be much worse.

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5

Well I am pretty sure you waited to long to do anything at all but your only chance is credit card chargeback which you might even be to late to do .. Call today right now and explain what happened ...

Message 2 of 6
latest reply

If you paid by Credit Card then phone the 1-800 number on the

back of your card and see  about doing a chargeback.

Not guaranteed because Credit Card co also have time limits.