WHY? sellers gave positive to buyer who didn't pay?

I'm fairly new to selling; perhaps I'm missing something that some of you more experienced sellers can enlighten me about, please. I don't understand this ... I listed an auction ... a buyer

won the auction ... didn't pay ... I sent 4 emails and 1 invoice ... still no response. I looked at his/her feedback and I see the last three people that left feedback for this buyer said that he/she didn't pay ... yet they still gave a positive rating. 

I don't get it. can someone please help me understand this.

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Re: WHY? sellers gave positive to buyer who didn't pay?

With so many sellers (3) posting feedback did not pay in the past Month (could be days, who knows with the new hidden date policy on feedback), it could be possible the buyer had a family emergency or even they are hospitalized.

Looks to me that something unexpected happened to the buyer or their friends or family. Hopefully, not tragic to the buyer.

PS All that feedback about not paying is not allowed by sellers. It will be removed if the buyer requests it.

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

Sellers cannot leave negative feedback for buyers.

Stupid sellers leave negative comments with positive feedback instead. Stupid because there is a much better system in place, because most sellers can'r read feedback before the purchase (we use Fixed Price or Buy It Now listings), and eBay will remove the feedback and give the seller a Violation if the buyer complains.

The correct procedure is to open an Unpaid Item Dispute, give the deadbeat a Strike, and get your fees back.

Then go to you Seller Preferences and set up and automatic Block against bidders with Strikes . You mightt also set up a Block against bidders who do not have active Paypal accounts.