shipping info needed.

Hi there, I'm new to e-bay. I hope to be selling soon. My ? is...Where to find info on shipping charges ect. I'v been reading on this board and it seems very complicated.

could someone please head me in the right direction?? Is there a site I could go to? I would like to sell world wide in the near future. But, to start I think It would be better if I kept it closer to home ..Canada & Us.

Thank you for any info you can provide.

Message 1 of 7
latest reply
6 REPLIES 6

shipping info needed.

Good Morning,

So start small with your items, and go to the Canada post site.  You can enter the size and weight of the item you are selling, (boxed and ready for shipping) and a postal code  and the site will give you a cost.   After a while you will know the approximate cost without having to look.  At the Canada post site you can use a Canada, USA and international location to ship to.

Canadapost. ca and "find a rate"

Message 2 of 7
latest reply

shipping info needed.

Get a tape measure. The ones from IKEA are free and in metric.

Canada Post went metric in 1974 and any other system will be inaccurate.

Get a digital metric scale. I use a Starfrit that I got on sale from Canadian Tire for less than $20. It measures up to 5 kilos.

Use Paypal shipping wherever possible. You will need a printer for this.

PP not only allows you to keep track of your shipments, but offers discounts on some services of 5%to 18% off PO counter prices.

When you use PP labels, you just drop off your parcels in the nearest mailbox. No need to deal with PO counter clerks.

http://www.canadapost.ca/cpotools/apps/far/business/findARate?execution=e1s1

Note that this is the Business section. It offers a few options that are not on the Personal section.

Don't forget to weigh your items with packaging. (You don't actually have to package them, but allow something for the weight of cardboard, bubblewrap, kraft paper, peanuts, poly envelopes, whatever)