Outbid over a minute after auction ended - help?

zatja-0
Community Member

Hi all, I'm fairly new to EBay and just now was outbid at 1:31:18 my local time for an auction that was supposed to have ended at 1:30.

I received the warning email at 1:31:18 when the "winning" bid came in, but was watching the auction and assumed the item was mine after we passed the 1:30, then the 1:31:00 threshold.  (Read up on snipers and how auctions can continue into the 59 seconds past the closing time.)

The auction then closed at 1:31:23.  

Can someone please advise me on how this works? This was disappointing and seems unfair. 

Thank you so much!

J.

Message 1 of 10
latest reply
9 REPLIES 9

Could you post the item number? this will allow us to see the timing of the auction.

Snipe bidding can arrive seconds, even nano-seconds after manual bids and after early bids.

Which is why the usual advice is to bid once, bid your true maximum, and usually bid late.

Message 2 of 10
latest reply

Thanks so much for your reply! The item no. is 124195510086.

Appreciate your feedback very much - I feel cheated!

J
Message 3 of 10
latest reply

The winning bid was placed five seconds before the auction ended.

You can check yourself, by using a desktop browser to go to the bid history page:

https://www.ebay.ca/bfl/viewbids/124195510086?item=124195510086&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2565

Bidders should expect bidding at the end of the auction when there is not enough time to react and place another bid.

If you decide in advance the maximum amount you are willing to spend, including shipping and taxes, and add a few cents to avoid a round number that might result in a tie, and then bid the appropriate amount once as late in the auction as you are comfortable with, then the only way you can lose is if someone else is willing to bid more than your maximum amount.

Message 4 of 10
latest reply