Overcharged shipping due to eBay's automatic invoicing?

Hi everyone,

First and foremost, sorry if this is posted in the wrong section but I figured this would be closest to getting the attention of any buyers who have had a similar experience.

I have been buying from a certain seller on and off for a few years now and have never had any real problems.  Recently though, I learned that eBay's invoicing cannot handle more than 40 items from the same seller at one time and when I was checking out, I saw that the invoice would include several shipping fees.

Before I was aware of this information, I would always just check out and pay via Paypal and believed everything was accurate which should have been the case since back then I would never have more than 40 items in a single invoice.  Now though, when I noticed this and messaged the seller about the invoicing issue, they replied saying since I already paid there is nothing they can do for me.

I never really understood the invoicing process since I am just a buyer but shouldn't the seller have at least let me know about this invoicing issue out of courtesy, granted I know they are not exactly obligated to do so realistically?  Who is exactly responsible for the invoicing ending up the way it did?  Is there any chance at all to get refunded the difference that I overpaid?

Should I take this up with the seller personally or should I contact eBay directly?  Also, would Paypal transaction statements and the eBay purchase history be enough to help this case?

Thanks!

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

it appears you are dealing with an over seas seller, your best bet is to talk to the seller first.. if you where planning on buying 40 plus items you should have reached out to the seller first.. i have no idea what the maximum items purchased per invoice is..

Message 2 of 15
latest reply

they replied saying since I already paid there is nothing they can do for me.

Hmmmm. Uh-huh.