Re: USPS First Class Intl Services to Canada

I have been buying on Ebay for a few years  and have never felt so frustrated. 

Some sellers are using the weight limit of 16 ounces as directed by Ebay for USPS First Class Intl services to Canada. Wrong it is up to 4 lbs with a value up to $400. This information can be googled on the internet via USPS.com. or contacting  your local post office .

Ebay and some sellers are incorrect with information. 

I refuse to be a part of the Global Shipping Program as it is just a cash grab.

Is any other Canadian having this problem.

Ebay smarten up.....

Message 1 of 9
latest reply
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions

Seriously, it's not eBay.

It is the seller, who wants the slightly higher exposure in Search without the five second hassle of making out a customs declaration for non-US buyers.

They say they ship internationally, then make it uneconomic for non-US customers to buy.

Basically, they don't want your money.

Most of GSP import fees go to provincial sales taxes, btw.

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 9
latest reply

Nope.

It's all on the seller.

I just did a fake listing, which I better remove pretty fast, and there was no problem listing a 4lb FCI parcel.

Shipping from 90210 to BC was $37.25 USD.

Have you tried punching in various dimensions, weights and locations to the USPS site?

https://postcalc.usps.com/Calculator/ShapeAndSize?country=10440&ccode=AE&omil=False&dmil=False&mdt=7...

International shipping is quite expensive.

Here's Canada Post for comparison;

https://www.canadapost.ca/cpotools/apps/far/business/findARate?execution=e1s1

Message 4 of 9
latest reply

UPS WorldSaver to Canada.

NEVER buy anything shipped UPS to Canada. Not only are the import fees charged on your doorstep, but their customs brokerage/ service fee starts at $25.

GSP which I avoid at all costs.