Being Scammed By Buyer

Hi everyone,

I just tried selling a product. I got an offer from a buyer that gave me their phone number. I accepted the offer and texted them (this is my first time selling on eBay. I'm used to selling on kijiji so I assumed contacting the buyer directly was ok) but they quickly tried to pull the Steam Wallet Card scam on me. Now I'm on the hook trying to sell the item to someone who is clearly trying to scam me and is most likely not going to pay for it. I'm just wonder what I need to do to properly cancel this transaction. Any feed back is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!   

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

Being Scammed By Buyer

Maybe try cancelling the transaction with "problem with buyer's address" as the reason to see if it works? And then block the buyer. https://pages.ebay.ca/services/buyandsell/biddermanagement.html

Note that because you already have previous communication with this guy, he can still continue to message you (and he probably has your number too since you texted him). The Blocked buyer list only blocks them from making more purchases. For eBay messages just ignore them. For your phone you can consider adding him to your blocked number list. 

Message 2 of 4
latest reply

Being Scammed By Buyer

how where you hoping to mail a jacket for 5.99 in Canada..  you need to do some more research before you try selling things..

If the buyer is being a problem, as said before, cancel the transaction, with a problem, with buyer's address, you may get a negative feedback, but so what, you won't get ripped off.

Then you can plead with customer service to get it removed.. with your evidence..

As a new seller, don't send anything without tracking, that you can't afford to lose..there are buyers who prey on new seller's, who don't use tracking..

Message 3 of 4
latest reply

Being Scammed By Buyer

Now I'm on the hook trying to sell the item to someone who is clearly trying to scam me

You accepted the offer.