EBay seller payment options

I have been selling items on EBay for 20 years periodically. I have noticed PayPal has been more unpredictable and I have heard that although PayPal has been linked and possibly owned by EBay, there are different ways to receive payments from buyers now on EBay. I cancelled my PayPal account last month and want to list a few items in the next week so I am all ears. Is there a way I can sell on EBay, get paid through EBay and then have my bank account linked so that payment goes into my bank account. I live in Canada but prefer to list on .com and get paid in US funds. In the past PayPal would hold my funds and then when I went to convert the $ into Cdn funds and transfer the $ into my bank account they would gouge me on the conversion and charge me a fee to transfer my money into my bank account. 

Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

EBay purchased Paypal in 2002 and was forced to spin it off in 2015, by Wall   Street wolf, Carl Icahn, famed for breaking up profitable companies and killing them in the process.

EBay and PP had a five year agreement to continue their relationship but eBay was already working on having a new in-house payment processor. By 2020 they started moving German and US sellers to their Managed Payments service.  Canadian sellers started being "invited "  to MP in late 2020.

there are different ways to receive payments from buyers now

Managed Payments allow payment by credit card, Paypal, GooglePay and ApplePay.

So.

At the moment, MP is only available for sellers who are invited to join. These apparently are mostly fairly experienced sellers, who are able to take a long view. (Doesn't mean we won't complain. Loudly. )

Is there a way I can sell on EBay, get paid through EBay and then have my bank account linked so that payment goes into my bank account.

Right now, as a new /occasional/returning seller, no.

You will need a Paypal account.

Sellers must be "invited" to use Managed Payments.