FedEx Ground vs CP expedited

So i know eBay added fedex to shipping options some time ago but it's my first time having it as an option. I always used CP and never used any other company. Fedex being cheaper, i'm considering using it. Any difference? I guess i need to find a fedex office to ship too?

My packaged is very small (19x13x2cm). Is it as safe and trustable as CP?

Any suggestions

Message 1 of 6
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Fedex is a major shipping company. You should have no issues in terms of reliability. The big problem with Fedex for some sellers would be accessibility since they may not have a drop spot anywhere as close as your local Canada Post mailbox or post office. The other issue from the buyer's end is that if they are not home and they have to pick up the package, they might be unhappy that it was shipped Fedex if the pickup location is not accessible to them. 

If you create a Canada Post Small Business account, the rates are sometimes better than what eBay quotes you for. Another option is Chit Chats. They ship via Canada Post but offer cheaper rates because they handle the shipment from your city to the closest Chit Chats location to the buyer's city. Then they pass it off to Canada Post who deliver it like any regular Canada Post parcel. It takes longer than a standard Canada Post parcel, usually about 1-2 weeks. I wouldn't use it if the buyer paid for regular parcel or expedited at standard rates, but it is a good option when a buyer selects economy shipping and you want the security of tracking. 

View solution in original post

Message 2 of 6
latest reply
5 REPLIES 5