How to handle shipping labels for pre-orders

jiym3524
Community Member
Hello, I'm fairly new to selling and I just made my first sale for an item that will not ship until July. I couldn't figure out how to set the listing to reflect that, but I made sure to make it clear in my ad. I also followed up with the buyer to let them know estimated shipping date. My only concern is what to do with the shipping label that ebay provides. Do I print it now and save it until the item is ready to ship? Or do I just wait until the item is ready before I print it off?
Thank you in advance for any assistance that anyone can provide.
Message 1 of 4
latest reply
3 REPLIES 3

EBay doesn't 'provide'  you with a label, they provide you with the ability to print one here.  The buyer has paid you for the label and you can buy it it on a few different t places.   I would not recommend printing one now.  I'm not sure how long a label can be used for but even if it is good for few months,  you don't want to print and pay for a label now as there is always the possibility that you won't need to use it.

A couple of other comments...

EBay rule for preorders is that they are shipped within 30 days of purchase. Also, whenever  you are listing something you pick a handling time on the listing and you are required to ship within that time.  Your handling time was 2 business days. The buyer is given an estimated delivery date based on that handling time.  The estimated delivery varies on the buyers location but if I had bought it, delivery time to Alberta is estimated to be within 10 business days.  

That means that a buyer could file an item not received claim after that time.  A buyer can only open an eBay claim up to 30 days after the estimated delivery date.  So this is just a head up that the buyer can open a claim long before you receive the item.