Managed Payment question

Why after you have given all your bank informations they come back asking for a picture of your driver license to verify your identity?

Any reasons and has anyone also had to do that?

Thanks for any answers 

Message 1 of 20
latest reply
19 REPLIES 19

Managed Payment question

It seems that sometimes they ask for only the drivers licence number, sometimes a passport number and at other times a picture of one of them. I had to provide a scan of my drivers licence even though I have been selling here for 16 years. Had to do the same for PayPal.

Message 2 of 20
latest reply

Managed Payment question

Dont be surprised if the ask our type of underwear next ... I'm done with Ebay

Message 3 of 20
latest reply

Managed Payment question

I was asked for either passport or drivers license when one of my .com listings sold (but no scan requested).

One thread in the ebay.com forums mentioned that the IRS  wants ebay to provide sales info for American taxpayers who sell more than $600/year starting in 2022.

Message 4 of 20
latest reply

Managed Payment question

"The law does not concern itself with trifles"  is an old proverb.

The reason CBSA let so many low value parcels through without charging import fees (pre- NewNAFTA in July 2020) was that it would cost more to assess and collect the minimal fees due than the customs officer was being paid.

If the IRS is looking at $600 income, they are wasting taxpayer money.  That's garage sale money.

Message 5 of 20
latest reply

Managed Payment question

@ypdc_dennis wrote:

I was asked for either passport or drivers license when one of my .com listings sold (but no scan requested).

One thread in the ebay.com forums mentioned that the IRS  wants ebay to provide sales info for American taxpayers who sell more than $600/year starting in 2022.