Newcoming seeking advice on mailing from Canada to U.S.

Hello, I'm completely new to this and would really appreciate any advice. 

I've listed items that are collectibles: magazine-sized sports programmes that were in my grandfather's belongings. I opened up the bidding to U.S. buyers to broaden the market (and that's where the highest bids are coming from) but I've never mailed anything to the U.S. other than greeting cards. 

I said I would do free shipping to Canada and the US because that seems simpler than charging shipping, which I've never done. 

They would go in magazine-sized envelopes. 

I'm trying to keep it simple but don't want to spend more on shipping than I'm getting for the item!

Questions:

Is any service better than any other? I think Canada Post is most convenient, especially as I have a disability that limits my travel.  

I'm going to use the tracking system, but I don't know if I should insure them or not: some of them might be worth $200 (!!!)  Does Canada Post do that? 

Do I have to pay any kind of customs fee or taxes when I ship? Should I declare the value to the buyer (who might pay a lot because it's a collectible) or the value to the average person (who would throw it in the recycling bin?) I'm scrupulously honest but that stumps me a bit: it's different from a gift that I know the value of because I paid for it. 

Thanks very much!

Message 1 of 5
latest reply
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Your magazines could probably be mailed at Letter rates. If each shipment weighed 499grams, the maximum for Canada would be $5.47 and for the USA would be $11.14.

Most magazines would weigh less and cost less.

BUT

Letter post does not included tracking, which is one of the few Seller Protections we have.

On the other hand, your buyer is likely to be an older guy, feeling nostalgic and a pretty easy going person.

The protection you get from tracking is the ability to disprove a false Not Received Dispute.