Buyer Outside of Specified Region

This is my first time selling on eBay and someone won an auction I had. Then they requested an invoice, so I go to fill out the information and it shows the Buyer name and Location. It says they're in Brazil and in the auction I had Ships to: Canada

What am I supposed to do?

Message 1 of 8
latest reply
7 REPLIES 7

Re: Buyer Outside of Specified Region

@drewmartell wrote:

This is my first time selling on eBay and someone won an auction I had. Then they requested an invoice, so I go to fill out the information and it shows the Buyer name and Location. It says they're in Brazil and in the auction I had Ships to: Canada

What am I supposed to do?

Did you remember to exclude countries you do not wish to ship to in your "Site Preferences"?

You can find this preference under the "Account Tab - Site preferences - Buyer Requirements"

Simply listing Canada as the shipping destination does not stop folks from other places bidding/buying. You need to manually block the other countries in the preference I described.

If you had blocked/excluded the other countries then you need to call Ebay for help as it is a glitch. If you hadn't then you have 2 choices. As you hadn't exactly specified Brazil as a shipping destination you can contact the buyer and explain this and quote him the charge to ship the laptop to Brazil and hope it's too much and he wants to cancel the transaction.

You could also explain the situation to the buyer and then ask him to cancel the transaction.

Given how easily Ebay is handing out defects now you may well end up with one over this.

Hope this helps.

Cheers,

thd

Message 2 of 8
latest reply

As eBay insists upon tracking for parcels, that is your way out. I looked in canadapost.com, ballparked some numbers, and got and Xpresspost for $138.

Package it up, weight, measure then send the customer the invoice with that total. When they ask for cheaper shipping, simply reply no.

Photobucket
Message 3 of 8