I really hate how sellers...

meetreez
Community Member

Don't give you a rating, until you give them a review! My review of the seller should have nothing to do with the rating they bestow upon me. If I make use of good communication skills with my seller, and make payments immediately - that's all my rating should be based upon. I'm new to eBay and have only made a few purchases thus far, but every single person whom I've bought something from would refuse to give me a rating until I would submit a review. It's a little bit childish, if you ask me...

Message 1 of 15
latest reply
14 REPLIES 14

Re: I really hate how sellers...

I totally agree with your comments.

There is no logical reason for eBay sellers not to give positive feedback for buyers immediately upon receipt of payment.  It is their way to say "thank you".

However, the feedback system on eBay is voluntary and both buyers and sellers are free to use it as they see fit.

Message 2 of 15
latest reply

The deal is not over till the buyer is happy. They signal that with FB.

Immediately after payment you have no idea what the buyer will be like.

Message 3 of 15
latest reply

Exactly, the feedback on the entire transaction should be given when the buyer and seller is satisfied with their purchase and sale. If the buyer is not satisfied, arrangements are made for return, exchange or money to be sent back etc. Only after all is said and done should feedback be added as to how the whole transaction was handled.

Message 4 of 15
latest reply

I agree with everybody.

Feedback is voluntary.

Sellers can only leave positive feedback, so some hold back so as not to 'reward' difficult customers.

Sellers can only leave positive fb, so the seller might as well leave it early to encourage the customer to do the same.

Message 5 of 15
latest reply