What would be smart behavior for INR? So far I have email only

On March 3, 2016 I got an offer from the US buyer (Illinois) for the book listed for $25.99Cdn, the offer was too low, I made counter offer and received another offer slightly higher with begging note "please accept it! I am a student!"

So, I have accepted his $13.00 fully realizing that it was not smart business decision.

But the book was for sale for very long...

Shortly after I got his email asking to do something to reduce shipping charges (calculated shipping - $16.65 to USA)

I told him that I can not control this number because this exactly what I have to pay at postal outlet and even to pay to eBay and to Paypal fees on this amount.

I received his money and shipped the same day.  Because I sold so low I decided not to spend another $3-$4 for tracking, although I understand that this tracking is not for him, it is for me.

As always, I sent him a letter indicating the approximate duration of delivery and added "I have given your purchase my priority and believe I have responded in a timely manner. If however you have any additional concerns or questions, please do not hesitate to contact me via email before you approach eBay on this matter". 

So, I was approached by email last Saturday and he asked for tracking number stating that the book did not arrive yet. I replied  that I did not offer him the "tracking" option for shipping because it was hard for him to pay without tracking.

And I asked him to wait a little longer.

I do not know how much honesty is here, but I have to presume it is there.

My question: If I refund him full amount of money before he opens a case, will I get a defect?

And will I get my FVF back? 

Is it smart to refund before the case is opened?

Thank you all for recommendations.

Message 1 of 14
latest reply
13 REPLIES 13

Re: What would be smart behavior for INR? So far I have email only

Small clarification please.

"calculated shipping - $16.65 to USA"